MARK YOUR CALENDARS: ARLIS Ohio Valley Fall Meeting Registration & Schedule!

It’s that time of year again to register for the ARLIS Ohio Valley Fall Meeting! This is an exciting year, as our chapter will be holding a joint meeting with the regional VRA Great Lakes Chapter at Oberlin College!

*Registration Deadline is October 18th

*LIGHTNING ROUND PRESENTATIONS: This year we will once again be holding lightning round presentations! These are open to both ARLIS OV and VRA chapter members. Please consider this a call for presentations, and fill out our Lightning Round Presentation Proposal Form by October 18th with a 5 minute presentation proposal. These are meant to be casual, with slides or without, and could simply be an update of what you’re doing at your library.

Thank you all and looking forward to your attendance at the Fall Meeting!

Save the Date! Fall 2019 Meeting

Please ‘Save The Date’ for our Fall 2019 meeting at Oberlin College on Friday, October 25th.

As a reminder, this will be a joint meeting with the VRA/Great Lakes Chapter, so things will be a little different this year. Looking forward to joining forces with them thanks to Barb Prior’s work with Heath Patten.

Hope many of you will be able to join us in October. More details to come!

Travel Award Announcement: Congrats to Jillian Ewalt!

On behalf of the ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley Chapter, the Nominating Committee would like to congratulate Jillian Ewalt, recipient of the 2019 Travel Award.  A new member of the chapter, Jillian is the Librarian at the Marian Library at the University of Dayton.  This will be Jillian’s first ARLIS/NA conference and she will be presenting a poster titled, Apparition or Icon? Integrating Critical Visual Literacy into Primary Source Instruction.  Congratulations Jillian!

2019 ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley Travel Award Committee:

Alison Huftalen, Head Librarian, Toledo Museum of Art

Edith Serkownek, Head, Fashion Library, Kent State University

ARLIS/NA-OV is pleased to announce the results of the election for Vice Chair/Chair Elect. Congratulations to Caitlin McGurk!

The following are members of the 2019 Executive Board:

Stephanie Kays, Chair
Caitlin McGurk, Vice Chair/Chair-Elect
Kiana Jones, Secretary/Treasurer
Marsha Miles, Web Editor
Stefanie Hilles, Past Chair

Thank you to Chris Mannix and Kate Joranson, our Nominating Committee, for organizing the election. 

Position Available at Kent State University

Head, Joseph F. Morbito Architecture Library

Purpose or Function of Position: Provides administrative, programmatic and operational leadership and direction for the Joseph F. Morbito Architecture Library. Manages daily operations and functions of the Architecture Library, oversees the Materials Collection, and supports the teaching and research programs of the College of Architecture and Environmental Design. This is a 12 month, full time, non-tenure track faculty position. It reports to the Assistant Dean.