Save the Date for the Ohio Valley Chapter Fall Meeting

Plans are underway for another very exciting fall meeting. Mark your calendars for November 2 and 3, and plan to join other chapter members in Canton and Akron. We will begin on Thursday evening at the Joseph Saxton gallery in Canton, and then have dinner. Friday we will gather in Akron for our business meeting and many other surprises, including a chance to see Rachel Sussman at work at the Akron Art Museum. See her at work on her installation at the Des Moines Art Center.

Please mark your calendars and plan to join the Ohio Valley chapter members in November!! We will continue to provide details as plans are confirmed.

2017-2018 Election Results

ARLIS/NA-OV is pleased to announce the results of the 2017-2018 Election for Vice Chair/Chair Elect! Congratulations to Stefanie Hilles! The following are members of the 2017 Executive Board:

  • Barbara Prior, Chair
  • Stefanie Hilles, Vice Chair/Chair-Elect
  • Beth Owens, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Marsha Miles, Web Editor
  • Anne Trenholme, Past Chair

Congratulations to Alex O’Keefe, Recipient of the 2017 Travel Award!

The ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley Chapter is excited to announce that the recipient of our 2017 Travel Award is Alex O’Keefe! Alex will receive $250 toward covering expenses to attend the ARLIS/NA 45th Conference in New Orleans.

Alex O’Keefe is a second-year LIS Graduate Student at the University of Kentucky. She earned her BFA with a concentration in Drawing and a BA in Humanities with a concentration in Art History and Literature from the University of Louisville. Alex will be co-presenting a poster at the conference titled Virtual Visitors to the Artists’ Books Collection: Making Fair Use Work for Your Online Project.

Congratulations, Alex! We hope to see you at the OV meeting in New Orleans!

ARLIS/NA-Ohio Valley is accepting applications for our Spring 2017 Travel Award

ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley Chapter is accepting applications for our Spring 2017 Travel Award.  One award of $250 is being offered to help defray the costs of attending the ARLIS/NA 45th Conference, February 5-9, 2017, in New Orleans, LA.  For more information about the conference, please visit: Students are encouraged to apply!


  • Must be a member of ARLIS/NA and ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley.
  • Must reside in Ohio, Kentucky, West Virginia, or western Pennsylvania.
  • Institutional support will be taken into consideration.

Not a member? Visit the ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley Chapter blog at to join! Our professional membership costs $25 per year and our student membership is free with proof of ARLIS/NA membership. Memberships span the calendar year from January 1 to December 31.

How to apply for the Travel Award:

Submit a letter of application and current resume (Word doc or PDF) to the Travel Award Committee, Kate Joranson ( and Stephanie Kays ( The letter of application should address any relevant award criteria and indicate how you will benefit from or contribute to the meeting. Include information regarding any available travel funding from your institution.

The application deadline is December 9, 2016.
The winner will be notified no later than December 19, 2016.

2017 ARLIS/Ohio Valley Travel Award Committee:

Kate Joranson, University of Pittsburgh
Phone: 412-648-2411

Stephanie Kays, Denison University
Phone: 740-587-6688